Better Gardening through Science

Master Gardeners Review 2019 Accomplishments, Install 2020 Officers

2019 Officers: Allen Hiller, Treasurer; Zahn Schlensker, Parlimentarian, Rebecca Morrow, Educational Enrichment Coordinator, Beverly Curtis, President-Elect; and Linda Wells, President. Photo: KCMGA.

Kaufman County Master Gardeners held their annual Appreciation Dinner on December 2. During 2019, Master Gardeners contributed 5,878 hours of volunteer and training valued at $149,483. The value of volunteer hours is set at $25.43 for this year by the State Comptroller’s Office.

At the 2019 Texas Master Gardener Association Convention, Kaufman County Master Gardener Association, which is in the Medium Association category for organizations with 25 to 49 members, received three second place awards for 2018. Beverly Curtis was recognized for contributions as Individual Master Gardener. The Poor Farm Vegetable Demonstration Garden was recognized in the Project category, and the 2018 Horticultural Calendar was recognized in the Written Education category.

Master Gardeners who contributed 100 or more hours of volunteer service in 2019 were Marline Ballard, Don Mzyk, Sahnd Schlensker, Jim Burt, Sheila Stein, Frances Holmes, Cindy Rich, Vickie Aken, Kris Kumar, Tamara Stahlman, Michele Reeves, Billie Henderson, Lisa Nalls, Beverly Curtis, Sandy Stahlman, Linda Wells, and Rebecca Morrow.

Members with ten or more years of service are: Judy Barton, Rebecca Morrow, and Lisa Nalls with 10 years, Brad Ackerman and Nancy Bowman with 15 years, Hildegard Smithe with 16 years, Frances Holmes and Ada O’Sten with 18 years, and Pam Corder and Sandy Stahlman with 19 years.

The Intern class of 2019 was introduced: Amy Barber, Meleena Byram, Robert Castro, Dorothy Dillon, Sonja Downs, Terry Edmondson, Laura Garner, Karel Holloway, Laura Hughes, Chet McDonald, Elorine Myers, Deborah Potts, Brenda Walker, and Mary Whitehurst. After they complete 50 hours of volunteer service in the coming year, they will become certified Master Gardeners.

The officers for 2020 were installed: Linda Wells, President; Beverly Curtis, President-Elect; Allen Hiller, Treasurer; Cindy Rich, Secretary; Rebecca Morrow, Educational Coordinator, and Zahnd Schlensker, Parliamentarian.


Contact Us

Please complete the form.  Required fields are marked with an asterisk (*). We will reply in 2 to 3 business days.

Skip to content